A Community of Family


“As a potter molds clay to form a beautiful creation, so does a community of family.”

I have been working very diligently putting together a history of my father’s side of the family. It is such a blessing to hear the stories of those who lived among my grandmother Beatrice and great-grandmother Mandy. It is said that she (Mandy) wanted all of children to live in close proximity to her. All of them did except two sons that moved away after they married.

We all want to belong and feel accepted. A sense of belonging is derived from a strong family bond. Family is where our roots take hold and grow. In the family bond, values are taught at an early age by this village of people and carried with us throughout our life. Rituals of bedtime stories, holiday and family meals shared together provide a sense of warmth, structure and safety. These rituals and traditions not only create memories and leave a family legacy, but creates a positive path in life.

I experienced this community of family at an early age. Although I did not know my great-grandmother mother Mandy(she died six months after I was born) I’m sure that she knew of me. I was able to eat the homemade preserves and jellies my grandmother Beatrice made. I was able to eat the homemade buttermilk and corn bread. I was able to bathe in the “tin tubs” outside in the back yard. I saw my grandfather roast a whole pig and people from the neighborhood came to the feast. When one family suffered, the others were there to help out.

My mom always makes the comment when she comes to visit, “why do you all stay so far away from each other?” The value of the community of family has been lost. That community has become unrecognizable.

Don’t take the value of your community of family for granted. You can mold a beautiful creation today for the generations that follow.

Leave a Reply

